Chesters

Borders, Jedburgh, TD8 6UL

About Chesters

The magical myth of a secret garden becomes a reality at Chesters, the first Featherdown in Scotland. Your tent is nestled in woods and cradled by barley fields on the other side of the Walled Garden (where you can pick your own fresh fruit and veg to cook on your wood burning stove).  Children will love the vast tree house and paddling through the burn which meanders through the garden leading to the River Teviot.  Each lodge has its own separate Discovery Tent complete with lights, telescope, microscope, fishing nets, paints, books and games.  Countless adventures await including den building, pebble painting, foraging for deadwood for the campfire and fishing for tiddlers.  All this and more nestled in a beautiful Scottish landscape (and an enviably midge-free one at that!). From both Edinburgh and Newcastle, this glorious Grade One listed Georgian mansion and country estate in Scotland is just a 1.5hr drive.

We’re delighted to say that despite being in Scotland, your stay at Chesters is midge-free so you should have no need for mosquito repellent!!!

Activities on the estate:

Chesters is full of delightful nooks and crannies, with the magical old walled garden an enticing centrepiece. The estate is home to countless animals many of which can be spotted from your tents which is why we have named each of our lodges after some of them: Otter, Badger, Fox and Osprey.  Bats, owls, rabbits, deer, pheasants also abound.  Our woods lie on the banks of the sparkling River Teviot with a beat of salmon and brown trout to fly-fish for, as an extra. Alternatively, you can order excellent fish & chips and other delights at Born in Scotland over the river or your local Ancrum Cross Keys pub, 2 miles away with a massive beer garden and great kids menu. Or you can choose to cook up a delicious slow-cooked meal on the wood burning stoves and BBQ at your tent, with everyone pitching in for the most fulfilling result. There is a little honesty shop on site for basic essentials and a few little luxuries such as our own Born in Scotland ale, and local shops are to be found nearby. As the finishing touch all our tents at Chesters have a hot tub, so you can indulge in this as an extra!

For a day out you can catch the train from Tweedbank (20-minute drive from Chesters) and be taken right into central Edinburgh where you can visit the top attractions including Edinburgh Castle and Royal Mile and even the Harry Potter shop. If you prefer to stay closer to home you can head to Born in Scotland which offers a restaurant and brewery tours together with all-year-round grass sledding, a giant sandpit, pirate fort, food shop and gin distillery.

On your arrival at Chesters you will be greeted at the Stables by Ellie, load up your luggage (personalised wheelbarrows supplied!) and be guided along magical paths passing the honesty shop and the walled garden to your tent.  Please note this takes approx 7mins and some uphill walking so wellies come in handy, especially after rainfall but we promise it is worth the effort!

The Channel 4 programme Country House Rescue documented John and Ellie’s efforts to rejuvenate the house back in 2008. Since then they have diversified with Featherdown, Born in Scotland and Firebrand Theatre Company along with having been blessed with 2 children Lily (11) and Tommy (7) who love helping with the Meet and Greets! They all view their ownership of Chesters as an enormous privilege, doing all they can to make sure the estate is viable and can be shared with as many people as possible. There are so many amazing places and things to do from castles and abbeys to waterfalls and walks with the prime attraction being nature herself, which provides the backdrop for a wonderful glamping holiday in this absolutely stunning spot in the Scottish Borders – possibly the reason many guests choose to spend most of their time in the Secret Garden for the duration of their stay!

Accommodation(s)

Bedrooms

Double bed (2m x 1.60m) made upon arrival
Bunk bed (2m x 0.80m)  
optional: bunks beds can be made upon arrival as an extra
Cupboard bed (2m x 1.40m)  
optional: cupboard beds can be made upon arrival as an extra
Duvets, pillows and bed linen

Living area

Sofa and dining table
Cool box with cooling elements
Wood stove including one crate of wood per night  
For heating and cooking.
Kitchen block with kitchen utensils
Cold running water in the kitchen
Windows can be opened

Facilities

Private outdoor shower  
warm shower
Private flushing toilet
Towel per person  
not included for children under 2 years old

Outdoor area

Picnic table
Roofed veranda with wooden terrace
Two deck chairs
Barbecue / outdoor cooker

Extras

Starter Package  
1 roll of toilet paper, Bin bag, Dish brush & dish liquid, Kitchen linen, Matches, Firelighters
Parking
Final cleaning
Honesty shop  
There is no honesty shop in College farm, Forest of Bowland, Hidcote Manor Farm and Wyresdale Park
Electricity and Wi-Fi  
Don't worry: you can simply charge your phone on the farm

4 extras to book at Chesters

Prices and availability

All available accommodations have private showers.  There is no electricity and wifi on-site.


Please note: You can reserve many accommodations within the next step.
If you wish to stay for longer or arrive on a different day – outside bank/school holidays, please contact us by phone on 01420 80804.
Online bookings can be made online until 2 PM on the day of arrival.

Select the arrival date and the length of stay and click on the price to continue to the booking process.

1
2
See available dates
2 night stay
From:Fri 14 May Until:Sun 16 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 14 May Until:Mon 17 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 14 May Until:Fri 21 May
4 night stay
From:Mon 17 May Until:Fri 21 May
7 night stay
From:Mon 17 May Until:Mon 24 May
2 night stay
From:Fri 21 May Until:Sun 23 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 21 May Until:Mon 24 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 21 May Until:Fri 28 May
4 night stay
From:Mon 24 May Until:Fri 28 May
7 night stay
From:Mon 24 May Until:Mon 31 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 28 May Until:Mon 31 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 28 May Until:Fri 04 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 31 May Until:Fri 04 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 31 May Until:Mon 07 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 04 Jun Until:Mon 07 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 04 Jun Until:Fri 11 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 07 Jun Until:Fri 11 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 07 Jun Until:Mon 14 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 11 Jun Until:Sun 13 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 11 Jun Until:Mon 14 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 11 Jun Until:Fri 18 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 14 Jun Until:Fri 18 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 14 Jun Until:Mon 21 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 18 Jun Until:Sun 20 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 18 Jun Until:Mon 21 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 18 Jun Until:Fri 25 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 21 Jun Until:Fri 25 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 21 Jun Until:Mon 28 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 25 Jun Until:Sun 27 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 25 Jun Until:Mon 28 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 25 Jun Until:Fri 02 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 28 Jun Until:Fri 02 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 28 Jun Until:Mon 05 Jul
2 night stay
From:Fri 02 Jul Until:Sun 04 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 02 Jul Until:Mon 05 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 02 Jul Until:Fri 09 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 05 Jul Until:Fri 09 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 05 Jul Until:Mon 12 Jul
2 night stay
From:Fri 09 Jul Until:Sun 11 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 09 Jul Until:Mon 12 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 09 Jul Until:Fri 16 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 12 Jul Until:Fri 16 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 12 Jul Until:Mon 19 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 16 Jul Until:Mon 19 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 16 Jul Until:Fri 23 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 19 Jul Until:Fri 23 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 19 Jul Until:Mon 26 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 23 Jul Until:Mon 26 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 23 Jul Until:Fri 30 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 26 Jul Until:Fri 30 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 26 Jul Until:Mon 02 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 30 Jul Until:Mon 02 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 30 Jul Until:Fri 06 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 02 Aug Until:Fri 06 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 02 Aug Until:Mon 09 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 06 Aug Until:Mon 09 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 06 Aug Until:Fri 13 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 09 Aug Until:Fri 13 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 09 Aug Until:Mon 16 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 13 Aug Until:Mon 16 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 13 Aug Until:Fri 20 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 16 Aug Until:Fri 20 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 16 Aug Until:Mon 23 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 20 Aug Until:Mon 23 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 20 Aug Until:Fri 27 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 23 Aug Until:Fri 27 Aug
4 night stay
From:Fri 27 Aug Until:Tue 31 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 27 Aug Until:Fri 03 Sep
3 night stay
From:Tue 31 Aug Until:Fri 03 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 03 Sep Until:Sun 05 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 03 Sep Until:Mon 06 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 03 Sep Until:Fri 10 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 06 Sep Until:Fri 10 Sep
7 night stay
From:Mon 06 Sep Until:Mon 13 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 10 Sep Until:Sun 12 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 10 Sep Until:Mon 13 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 10 Sep Until:Fri 17 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 13 Sep Until:Fri 17 Sep
7 night stay
From:Mon 13 Sep Until:Mon 20 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 17 Sep Until:Sun 19 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 17 Sep Until:Mon 20 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 17 Sep Until:Fri 24 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 20 Sep Until:Fri 24 Sep
7 night stay
From:Mon 20 Sep Until:Mon 27 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 24 Sep Until:Sun 26 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 24 Sep Until:Mon 27 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 24 Sep Until:Fri 01 Oct
4 night stay
From:Mon 27 Sep Until:Fri 01 Oct

To plan the route Chesters

Chesters, What to do in the area:

Your host(s)

John & Ellie

We are John and Ellie, and our project to fully rejuvenate the house and grounds was recently documented by the Channel 4 programme Country House Rescue. We will be your hosts throughout your stay, ably assisted by our daughter Lily and son Thomas.

Chesters, Average customer rating

Chesters, Alternative locations