Chesters

Borders, Jedburgh, TD8 6UL

About Chesters

The magical myth of a secret garden becomes a reality at Chesters, the first Featherdown in Scotland. Your tent is nestled in woods and cradled by barley fields on the other side of the Walled Garden (where you can pick your own fresh fruit and veg to cook on your wood burning stove).  Children will love the vast tree house and paddling through the burn which meanders through the garden leading to the River Teviot.  Each lodge has its own separate Discovery Tent complete with lights, telescope, microscope, fishing nets, paints, books and games.  Countless adventures await including den building, pebble painting, foraging for deadwood for the campfire and fishing for tiddlers.  All this and more nestled in a beautiful Scottish landscape (and an enviably midge-free one at that!). From both Edinburgh and Newcastle, this glorious Grade One listed Georgian mansion and country estate in Scotland is just a 1.5hr drive.

We’re delighted to say that despite being in Scotland, your stay at Chesters is midge-free so you should have no need for mosquito repellent!!!

Activities on the estate:

Chesters is full of delightful nooks and crannies, with the magical old walled garden an enticing centrepiece. The estate is home to countless animals many of which can be spotted from your tents which is why we have named each of our lodges after some of them: Otter, Badger, Fox and Osprey.  Bats, owls, rabbits, deer, pheasants also abound.  Our woods lie on the banks of the sparkling River Teviot with a beat of salmon and brown trout to fly-fish for, as an extra. Alternatively, you can order excellent fish & chips and other delights at Born in Scotland over the river or your local Ancrum Cross Keys pub, 2 miles away with a massive beer garden and great kids menu. Or you can choose to cook up a delicious slow-cooked meal on the wood burning stoves and BBQ at your tent, with everyone pitching in for the most fulfilling result. There is a little honesty shop on site for basic essentials and a few little luxuries such as our own Born in Scotland ale, and local shops are to be found nearby. As the finishing touch all our tents at Chesters have a hot tub, so you can indulge in this as an extra!

For a day out you can catch the train from Tweedbank (20-minute drive from Chesters) and be taken right into central Edinburgh where you can visit the top attractions including Edinburgh Castle and Royal Mile and even the Harry Potter shop. If you prefer to stay closer to home you can head to Born in Scotland which offers a restaurant and brewery tours together with all-year-round grass sledding, a giant sandpit, pirate fort, food shop and gin distillery.

On your arrival at Chesters you will be greeted at the Stables by Ellie, load up your luggage (personalised wheelbarrows supplied!) and be guided along magical paths passing the honesty shop and the walled garden to your tent.  Please note this takes approx 7mins and some uphill walking so wellies come in handy, especially after rainfall but we promise it is worth the effort!

The Channel 4 programme Country House Rescue documented John and Ellie’s efforts to rejuvenate the house back in 2008. Since then they have diversified with Featherdown, Born in Scotland and Firebrand Theatre Company along with having been blessed with 2 children Lily (11) and Tommy (7) who love helping with the Meet and Greets! They all view their ownership of Chesters as an enormous privilege, doing all they can to make sure the estate is viable and can be shared with as many people as possible. There are so many amazing places and things to do from castles and abbeys to waterfalls and walks with the prime attraction being nature herself, which provides the backdrop for a wonderful glamping holiday in this absolutely stunning spot in the Scottish Borders – possibly the reason many guests choose to spend most of their time in the Secret Garden for the duration of their stay!

Accommodation(s)

Bedrooms

Double bed (2m x 1.60m) made upon arrival
Bunk bed (2m x 0.80m)  
optional: bunks beds can be made upon arrival as an extra
Cupboard bed (2m x 1.40m)  
optional: cupboard beds can be made upon arrival as an extra
Duvets, pillows and bed linen

Living area

Sofa and dining table
Cool box with cooling elements
Wood stove including one crate of wood per night  
For heating and cooking.
Kitchen block with kitchen utensils
Cold running water in the kitchen
Windows can be opened

Facilities

Private outdoor shower  
warm shower
Private flushing toilet
Towel per person  
not included for children under 2 years old

Outdoor area

Picnic table
Roofed veranda with wooden terrace
Two deck chairs
Barbecue / outdoor cooker

Extras

Starter Package  
1 roll of toilet paper, Bin bag, Dish brush & dish liquid, Kitchen linen, Matches, Firelighters
Parking
Final cleaning
Honesty shop  
There is no honesty shop in Canfields Farm, College farm, Forest of Bowland, Hidcote Manor Farm and Wyresdale Park
Electricity and Wi-Fi  
Don't worry: you can simply charge your phone on the farm

2 extras to book at Chesters

Prices and availability

There is no electricity and wifi on-site.


Please note: You can reserve many accommodations within the next step.
If you wish to stay longer or arrive on a different day – outside of bank/school holidays only, please contact us by phone on 01420 80804.
Online bookings can be made online until 2 PM on the day of arrival.

Select the arrival date and the length of stay and click on the price to continue to the booking process.

1
2
See available dates
2 night stay
From:Fri 01 Apr Until:Sun 03 Apr
3 night stay
From:Fri 01 Apr Until:Mon 04 Apr
7 night stay
From:Fri 01 Apr Until:Fri 08 Apr
4 night stay
From:Mon 04 Apr Until:Fri 08 Apr
2 night stay
From:Fri 08 Apr Until:Sun 10 Apr
3 night stay
From:Fri 08 Apr Until:Mon 11 Apr
7 night stay
From:Fri 08 Apr Until:Fri 15 Apr
4 night stay
From:Mon 11 Apr Until:Fri 15 Apr
7 night stay
From:Mon 11 Apr Until:Mon 18 Apr
4 night stay
From:Fri 15 Apr Until:Tue 19 Apr
7 night stay
From:Fri 15 Apr Until:Fri 22 Apr
3 night stay
From:Tue 19 Apr Until:Fri 22 Apr
2 night stay
From:Fri 22 Apr Until:Sun 24 Apr
3 night stay
From:Fri 22 Apr Until:Mon 25 Apr
7 night stay
From:Fri 22 Apr Until:Fri 29 Apr
4 night stay
From:Mon 25 Apr Until:Fri 29 Apr
4 night stay
From:Fri 29 Apr Until:Tue 03 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 29 Apr Until:Fri 06 May
3 night stay
From:Tue 03 May Until:Fri 06 May
2 night stay
From:Fri 06 May Until:Sun 08 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 06 May Until:Mon 09 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 06 May Until:Fri 13 May
4 night stay
From:Mon 09 May Until:Fri 13 May
7 night stay
From:Mon 09 May Until:Mon 16 May
2 night stay
From:Fri 13 May Until:Sun 15 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 13 May Until:Mon 16 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 13 May Until:Fri 20 May
4 night stay
From:Mon 16 May Until:Fri 20 May
7 night stay
From:Mon 16 May Until:Mon 23 May
2 night stay
From:Fri 20 May Until:Sun 22 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 20 May Until:Mon 23 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 20 May Until:Fri 27 May
4 night stay
From:Mon 23 May Until:Fri 27 May
7 night stay
From:Mon 23 May Until:Mon 30 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 27 May Until:Mon 30 May
6 night stay
From:Fri 27 May Until:Thu 02 Jun
3 night stay
From:Mon 30 May Until:Thu 02 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 30 May Until:Mon 06 Jun
4 night stay
From:Thu 02 Jun Until:Mon 06 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 06 Jun Until:Fri 10 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 06 Jun Until:Mon 13 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 10 Jun Until:Sun 12 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 10 Jun Until:Mon 13 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 10 Jun Until:Fri 17 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 13 Jun Until:Fri 17 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 13 Jun Until:Mon 20 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 17 Jun Until:Sun 19 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 17 Jun Until:Mon 20 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 17 Jun Until:Fri 24 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 20 Jun Until:Fri 24 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 20 Jun Until:Mon 27 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 24 Jun Until:Sun 26 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 24 Jun Until:Mon 27 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 24 Jun Until:Fri 01 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 27 Jun Until:Fri 01 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 27 Jun Until:Mon 04 Jul
2 night stay
From:Fri 01 Jul Until:Sun 03 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 01 Jul Until:Mon 04 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 01 Jul Until:Fri 08 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 04 Jul Until:Fri 08 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 04 Jul Until:Mon 11 Jul
2 night stay
From:Fri 08 Jul Until:Sun 10 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 08 Jul Until:Mon 11 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 08 Jul Until:Fri 15 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 11 Jul Until:Fri 15 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 11 Jul Until:Mon 18 Jul
2 night stay
From:Fri 15 Jul Until:Sun 17 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 15 Jul Until:Mon 18 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 15 Jul Until:Fri 22 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 18 Jul Until:Fri 22 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 18 Jul Until:Mon 25 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 22 Jul Until:Mon 25 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 22 Jul Until:Fri 29 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 25 Jul Until:Fri 29 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 25 Jul Until:Mon 01 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 29 Jul Until:Mon 01 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 29 Jul Until:Fri 05 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 01 Aug Until:Fri 05 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 01 Aug Until:Mon 08 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 05 Aug Until:Mon 08 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 05 Aug Until:Fri 12 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 08 Aug Until:Fri 12 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 08 Aug Until:Mon 15 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 12 Aug Until:Mon 15 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 12 Aug Until:Fri 19 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 15 Aug Until:Fri 19 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 15 Aug Until:Mon 22 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 19 Aug Until:Mon 22 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 19 Aug Until:Fri 26 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 22 Aug Until:Fri 26 Aug
4 night stay
From:Fri 26 Aug Until:Tue 30 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 26 Aug Until:Fri 02 Sep
3 night stay
From:Tue 30 Aug Until:Fri 02 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 02 Sep Until:Sun 04 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 02 Sep Until:Mon 05 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 02 Sep Until:Fri 09 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 05 Sep Until:Fri 09 Sep
7 night stay
From:Mon 05 Sep Until:Mon 12 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 09 Sep Until:Sun 11 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 09 Sep Until:Mon 12 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 09 Sep Until:Fri 16 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 12 Sep Until:Fri 16 Sep
7 night stay
From:Mon 12 Sep Until:Mon 19 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 16 Sep Until:Sun 18 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 16 Sep Until:Mon 19 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 16 Sep Until:Fri 23 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 19 Sep Until:Fri 23 Sep
7 night stay
From:Mon 19 Sep Until:Mon 26 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 23 Sep Until:Sun 25 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 23 Sep Until:Mon 26 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 23 Sep Until:Fri 30 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 26 Sep Until:Fri 30 Sep
7 night stay
From:Mon 26 Sep Until:Mon 03 Oct
2 night stay
From:Fri 30 Sep Until:Sun 02 Oct
3 night stay
From:Fri 30 Sep Until:Mon 03 Oct
7 night stay
From:Fri 30 Sep Until:Fri 07 Oct
4 night stay
From:Mon 03 Oct Until:Fri 07 Oct
7 night stay
From:Mon 03 Oct Until:Mon 10 Oct
2 night stay
From:Fri 07 Oct Until:Sun 09 Oct
3 night stay
From:Fri 07 Oct Until:Mon 10 Oct
7 night stay
From:Fri 07 Oct Until:Fri 14 Oct
4 night stay
From:Mon 10 Oct Until:Fri 14 Oct
7 night stay
From:Mon 10 Oct Until:Mon 17 Oct
2 night stay
From:Fri 14 Oct Until:Sun 16 Oct
3 night stay
From:Fri 14 Oct Until:Mon 17 Oct
7 night stay
From:Fri 14 Oct Until:Fri 21 Oct
4 night stay
From:Mon 17 Oct Until:Fri 21 Oct
7 night stay
From:Mon 17 Oct Until:Mon 24 Oct
2 night stay
From:Fri 21 Oct Until:Sun 23 Oct
3 night stay
From:Fri 21 Oct Until:Mon 24 Oct
7 night stay
From:Fri 21 Oct Until:Fri 28 Oct
4 night stay
From:Mon 24 Oct Until:Fri 28 Oct
7 night stay
From:Mon 24 Oct Until:Mon 31 Oct
2 night stay
From:Fri 28 Oct Until:Sun 30 Oct
3 night stay
From:Fri 28 Oct Until:Mon 31 Oct

To plan the route Chesters

Chesters, What to do in the area:

Your host(s)

John & Ellie

We are John and Ellie, and our project to fully rejuvenate the house and grounds was recently documented by the Channel 4 programme Country House Rescue. We will be your hosts throughout your stay, ably assisted by our daughter Lily and son Thomas.

Chesters, Average customer rating

Chesters, Alternative locations