Chesters

Borders, Jedburgh, TD8 6UL

About Chesters

The magical myth of a secret garden becomes a reality at Chesters, the first Feather Down in Scotland. Children will love the vast and extraordinary tree house right by the tents. As well as the mini beastie-safari, a fort with slides, and climbing nets at Born in the Borders. It’s all part of Chesters. Adults will love the location of the tents, positioned as if embedded in nature. There are activities including den building, foraging for wood for the campfire and following streams to the river to fish. All this and more nestled in a beautiful Scottish landscape (and an enviably midge-free one at that!) From both Edinburgh and Newcastle, this glorious Grade One listed Georgian mansion and Country Estate in Scotland is just 1,5h drive.

Also good to know about Chesters is that despite being in Scotland, they are midge free! Please note that Born in the Borders is temporarily closed however Ellie can recommend many other great cafes and places to go to nearby during your stay. 

Activities on the farm:

Chesters is full of delightful nooks and crannies, with the magical old walled garden an enticing centrepiece. The estate is home to cattle, roe deer, pheasants, partridges, ospreys and buzzards. It has a garden on the banks of the sparkling River Teviot with a run of salmon and brown trout to fish for, as an extra. Alternatively, order the fish served by the Gordon Ramsay-trained chef at Born in the Borders or the local Ancrum Cross Keys pub, 2 miles away. You can also cook up a delicious slow-cooked meal on the wood burning stove at your tent, with everyone pitching in for the most fulfilling result. There is a little honesty shop on site for the essentials, and local shops are to be found nearby. All the tents in this location also have a hot tub, so you can indulge in this as an extra!

Head to Born in the Borders cafe bar at Waverley Mall in Edinburgh by catching the railway train from Tweedbank (20-minute drive from Chesters) and be taken right into central Edinburgh. While you’re in Edinburgh, visit the top attractions including Edinburgh Castle and Royal Mile. Have a reviving drink at the Born in the Borders cafe, only a few minutes walk from Waverley station. Why not head to the Born in the Borders over the river which offers all-year-round grass sledding, a giant sandpit, and rollerskating.

On your arrival at Chesters you will be greeted at the Stables by Ellie, load up your luggage (wheelbarrows supplied). Walk towards your tent along magical paths, an honesty shop and the walled garden with pick-your-own fruit and veg (seasonal).  Wellies come in handy, especially after rainfall!

The Channel 4 programme Country House Rescue documented John and Ellie’s efforts to rejuvenate the house and grounds. They view their ownership of Chesters as an enormous privilege, doing all they can to make sure the estate is viable and can be shared with as many people as possible. Born in the Borders has a beautifully renovated visitor centre, real ale microbrewery along with a cafe and restaurant set in one of the estate’s old farm buildings. It is devoted to local produce in all its forms – everything from cashmere to cheese and beer, and even boutique accessories. The prime attraction though is nature itself, which makes for a  wonderful glamping holiday in this absolutely stunning spot in the Scottish Borders.

4 Extras Chesters

Accommodation(s)

Bedrooms

Double bed (2m x 1.60m) made upon arrival
Bunk bed (2m x 0.80m)  
optional: bunks beds can be made upon arrival as an extra
Cupboard bed (2m x 1.40m)  
optional: cupboard beds can be made upon arrival as an extra
Duvets, pillows and bed linen

Living area

Sofa and dining table
Cool box with cooling elements
Wood stove including one crate of wood per night  
For heating and cooking.
Kitchen block with kitchen utensils
Cold running water in the kitchen
Windows can be opened

Facilities

Private outdoor shower
Private flushing toilet
Towel per person

Outdoor area

Picnic table
Roofed veranda with wooden terrace
Two deck chairs
Barbecue / outdoor cooker

Also included

Starter Package  
1 roll TP, bin bag, dish brush & soap, kitchen linen, matches, 3 fire starter sticks, candles, oil lamp, lamp oil, tea lights
Parking
Final cleaning
Honesty shop

Prices and availability

Please note: You can reserve many accommodations within the next step.
If you wish to stay for longer or arrive on a different day – outside bank/school holidays, please contact us by phone on 01420 80804.
Online bookings can be made online until 2 PM on the day of arrival.

Select the arrival date and the length of stay and click on the price to continue to the booking process.

1
2
See available dates
4 night stay
From:Fri 02 Apr Until:Tue 06 Apr
7 night stay
From:Fri 02 Apr Until:Fri 09 Apr
3 night stay
From:Tue 06 Apr Until:Fri 09 Apr
3 night stay
From:Fri 09 Apr Until:Mon 12 Apr
7 night stay
From:Fri 09 Apr Until:Fri 16 Apr
4 night stay
From:Mon 12 Apr Until:Fri 16 Apr
7 night stay
From:Mon 12 Apr Until:Mon 19 Apr
2 night stay
From:Fri 16 Apr Until:Sun 18 Apr
3 night stay
From:Fri 16 Apr Until:Mon 19 Apr
7 night stay
From:Fri 16 Apr Until:Fri 23 Apr
4 night stay
From:Mon 19 Apr Until:Fri 23 Apr
7 night stay
From:Mon 19 Apr Until:Mon 26 Apr
2 night stay
From:Fri 23 Apr Until:Sun 25 Apr
3 night stay
From:Fri 23 Apr Until:Mon 26 Apr
7 night stay
From:Fri 23 Apr Until:Fri 30 Apr
4 night stay
From:Mon 26 Apr Until:Fri 30 Apr
4 night stay
From:Fri 30 Apr Until:Tue 04 May
3 night stay
From:Tue 04 May Until:Fri 07 May
2 night stay
From:Fri 07 May Until:Sun 09 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 07 May Until:Mon 10 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 07 May Until:Fri 14 May
4 night stay
From:Mon 10 May Until:Fri 14 May
7 night stay
From:Mon 10 May Until:Mon 17 May
2 night stay
From:Fri 14 May Until:Sun 16 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 14 May Until:Mon 17 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 14 May Until:Fri 21 May
4 night stay
From:Mon 17 May Until:Fri 21 May
7 night stay
From:Mon 17 May Until:Mon 24 May
2 night stay
From:Fri 21 May Until:Sun 23 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 21 May Until:Mon 24 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 21 May Until:Fri 28 May
4 night stay
From:Mon 24 May Until:Fri 28 May
7 night stay
From:Mon 24 May Until:Mon 31 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 28 May Until:Mon 31 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 28 May Until:Fri 04 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 31 May Until:Fri 04 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 31 May Until:Mon 07 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 04 Jun Until:Mon 07 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 04 Jun Until:Fri 11 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 07 Jun Until:Fri 11 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 07 Jun Until:Mon 14 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 11 Jun Until:Sun 13 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 11 Jun Until:Mon 14 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 11 Jun Until:Fri 18 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 14 Jun Until:Fri 18 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 14 Jun Until:Mon 21 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 18 Jun Until:Sun 20 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 18 Jun Until:Mon 21 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 18 Jun Until:Fri 25 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 21 Jun Until:Fri 25 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 21 Jun Until:Mon 28 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 25 Jun Until:Sun 27 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 25 Jun Until:Mon 28 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 25 Jun Until:Fri 02 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 28 Jun Until:Fri 02 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 28 Jun Until:Mon 05 Jul
2 night stay
From:Fri 02 Jul Until:Sun 04 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 02 Jul Until:Mon 05 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 02 Jul Until:Fri 09 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 05 Jul Until:Fri 09 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 05 Jul Until:Mon 12 Jul
2 night stay
From:Fri 09 Jul Until:Sun 11 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 09 Jul Until:Mon 12 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 09 Jul Until:Fri 16 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 12 Jul Until:Fri 16 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 12 Jul Until:Mon 19 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 16 Jul Until:Mon 19 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 16 Jul Until:Fri 23 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 19 Jul Until:Fri 23 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 19 Jul Until:Mon 26 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 23 Jul Until:Mon 26 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 23 Jul Until:Fri 30 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 26 Jul Until:Fri 30 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 26 Jul Until:Mon 02 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 30 Jul Until:Mon 02 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 30 Jul Until:Fri 06 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 02 Aug Until:Fri 06 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 02 Aug Until:Mon 09 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 06 Aug Until:Mon 09 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 06 Aug Until:Fri 13 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 09 Aug Until:Fri 13 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 09 Aug Until:Mon 16 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 13 Aug Until:Mon 16 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 13 Aug Until:Fri 20 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 16 Aug Until:Fri 20 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 16 Aug Until:Mon 23 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 20 Aug Until:Mon 23 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 20 Aug Until:Fri 27 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 23 Aug Until:Fri 27 Aug
4 night stay
From:Fri 27 Aug Until:Tue 31 Aug
3 night stay
From:Tue 31 Aug Until:Fri 03 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 03 Sep Until:Sun 05 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 03 Sep Until:Mon 06 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 03 Sep Until:Fri 10 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 06 Sep Until:Fri 10 Sep
7 night stay
From:Mon 06 Sep Until:Mon 13 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 10 Sep Until:Sun 12 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 10 Sep Until:Mon 13 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 10 Sep Until:Fri 17 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 13 Sep Until:Fri 17 Sep
7 night stay
From:Mon 13 Sep Until:Mon 20 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 17 Sep Until:Sun 19 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 17 Sep Until:Mon 20 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 17 Sep Until:Fri 24 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 20 Sep Until:Fri 24 Sep
7 night stay
From:Mon 20 Sep Until:Mon 27 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 24 Sep Until:Sun 26 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 24 Sep Until:Mon 27 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 24 Sep Until:Fri 01 Oct
4 night stay
From:Mon 27 Sep Until:Fri 01 Oct

To plan the route Chesters

Borders, Jedburgh, TD8 6UL

Chesters, What to do in the area:

Your host(s)

John & Ellie

We are John and Ellie, and our project to fully rejuvenate the house and grounds was recently documented by the Channel 4 programme Country House Rescue. We will be your hosts throughout your stay, ably assisted by our daughter Lily and son Thomas.

Chesters, Average customer rating

Chesters, Alternative locations