Chesters | Family Glamping Holidays in Scotland

Chesters Collection

Roxburghshire, Jedburgh, TD8 6UL

Prices and availability
A child's fantasy of a secret garden becomes reality at Chesters.
. . . . . . . . .
Collection
  • relax in a hot tub
  • playground area
  • panoramic views
9.4

Customer rating

The magical myth of a secret garden becomes a reality at Chesters, the first Feather Down in Scotland. Children will love the vast and extraordinary tree house right by the tents, as well as the mini beastie-safari, fort with slides, and climbing nets at Born in the Borders just over the river. It’s all part of Chesters. Adults will love the location of the tents, positioned as if embedded in nature. To take advantage of the inherent adventure of camping, each tent has its own Discovery Tent with campbeds, lights, table, chairs and paints, a telescope and a small library of books on nature/adventure. Then there are activities including den building, foraging for wood for the campfire and following streams to the river to fish. All this and more nestled in a beautiful Scottish landscape (and an enviably midge-free one at that!) From both Edinburgh and Newcastle, this glorious Grade One listed Georgian mansion and Country Estate in Scotland is just an hour and a half’s drive.

Chesters is full of delightful nooks and crannies, with the magical old walled garden an enticing centrepiece. The estate is home to cattle, roe deer, pheasants, partridges, ospreys and buzzards, and has a garden on the banks of the sparkling River Teviot with a run of salmon and brown trout to fish for, as an extra. Alternatively, order the fish served by the Gordon Ramsay-trained chef at Born in the Borders or the local Ancrum Cross Keys pub, 2 miles away. You can also cook up a delicious slow-cooked meal on the wood burning stove at your tent, with everyone pitching in for the most fulfilling result. There is a little honesty shop on site for the essentials, and local shops are to be found nearby.

On your arrival at Chesters you will be greeted at the Stables by Ellie, load up your luggage (wheelbarrows supplied) and be taken on a 7 minute walk  to your tent – along magical paths, past your honesty shop and through the walled garden with pick-your-own fruit and veg (seasonal).  Wellies come in handy, especially after rainfall!

The Channel 4 programme Country House Rescue documented John and Ellie’s efforts to rejuvenate the house and grounds. They view their ownership of Chesters as an enormous privilege, doing all they can to make sure the estate is viable and can be shared with as many people as possible. Born in the Borders has a beautifully renovated visitor centre, real ale microbrewery along with a cafe and restaurant set in one of the estate’s old farm buildings. It is devoted to local produce in all its forms – everything from cashmere to cheese and beer, and even boutique accessories. The prime attraction though is nature itself, which makes for a  wonderful glamping holiday in this absolutely stunning spot in the Scottish Borders.

Accommodation(s) Chesters Collection


Canvas Frills Lodge
sep shower with hot tub Collection 4P
Canvas Frills Lodge
sep shower with hot tub Collection 6P

Utilities

Double bed (2m x 1.80m)
Bunk bed (two times 2m x 0.90m)
Cupboard bed (2m x 1.3m) for 1 adult or 2 children-
Running water
Flushing toilet
Separate shower
Hot tub
Windows with a beautiful view You can open the windows from within or from the outside, depending on the accommodation.
Wooden terrace, deckchairs and extended canopy
Picnic table

Essentials

Wood for heating and cooking
Starter pack candles and lamp oil
Kitchen linen package

Also included

Outdoor cooker
Parking
Cleaning

Prices and availability
Chesters Collection


Month

From

Until

Canvas Frills Lodge
sep shower with hot tub Collection 4P
Canvas Frills Lodge
sep shower with hot tub Collection 6P
Month :
Tent :
Month
From
Until
Canvas Frills Lodge sep shower with hot tub Collection 4P
Canvas Frills Lodge sep shower with hot tub Collection 6P
2 night stay
Fri 04 May
Sun 06 May
3 night stay
Fri 04 May
Mon 07 May
7 night stay
Fri 04 May
Fri 11 May
4 night stay
Mon 07 May
Fri 11 May
7 night stay
Mon 07 May
Mon 14 May
2 night stay
Fri 11 May
Sun 13 May
3 night stay
Fri 11 May
Mon 14 May
7 night stay
Fri 11 May
Fri 18 May
4 night stay
Mon 14 May
Fri 18 May
7 night stay
Mon 14 May
Mon 21 May
2 night stay
Fri 18 May
Sun 20 May
3 night stay
Fri 18 May
Mon 21 May
7 night stay
Fri 18 May
Fri 25 May
4 night stay
Mon 21 May
Fri 25 May
2 night stay
Fri 25 May
Sun 27 May
3 night stay
Fri 25 May
Mon 28 May
7 night stay
Fri 25 May
Fri 01 Jun
4 night stay
Mon 28 May
Fri 01 Jun
7 night stay
Mon 28 May
Mon 04 Jun
Month
From
Until
Canvas Frills Lodge sep shower with hot tub Collection 4P
Canvas Frills Lodge sep shower with hot tub Collection 6P
2 night stay
Fri 01 Jun
Sun 03 Jun
3 night stay
Fri 01 Jun
Mon 04 Jun
7 night stay
Fri 01 Jun
Fri 08 Jun
4 night stay
Mon 04 Jun
Fri 08 Jun
7 night stay
Mon 04 Jun
Mon 11 Jun
2 night stay
Fri 08 Jun
Sun 10 Jun
3 night stay
Fri 08 Jun
Mon 11 Jun
7 night stay
Fri 08 Jun
Fri 15 Jun
4 night stay
Mon 11 Jun
Fri 15 Jun
7 night stay
Mon 11 Jun
Mon 18 Jun
2 night stay
Fri 15 Jun
Sun 17 Jun
3 night stay
Fri 15 Jun
Mon 18 Jun
7 night stay
Fri 15 Jun
Fri 22 Jun
4 night stay
Mon 18 Jun
Fri 22 Jun
7 night stay
Mon 18 Jun
Mon 25 Jun
2 night stay
Fri 22 Jun
Sun 24 Jun
3 night stay
Fri 22 Jun
Mon 25 Jun
7 night stay
Fri 22 Jun
Fri 29 Jun
4 night stay
Mon 25 Jun
Fri 29 Jun
7 night stay
Mon 25 Jun
Mon 02 Jul
2 night stay
Fri 29 Jun
Sun 01 Jul
3 night stay
Fri 29 Jun
Mon 02 Jul
7 night stay
Fri 29 Jun
Fri 06 Jul
Month
From
Until
Canvas Frills Lodge sep shower with hot tub Collection 4P
Canvas Frills Lodge sep shower with hot tub Collection 6P
4 night stay
Mon 02 Jul
Fri 06 Jul
7 night stay
Mon 02 Jul
Mon 09 Jul
3 night stay
Fri 06 Jul
Mon 09 Jul
7 night stay
Fri 06 Jul
Fri 13 Jul
4 night stay
Mon 09 Jul
Fri 13 Jul
7 night stay
Mon 09 Jul
Mon 16 Jul
3 night stay
Fri 13 Jul
Mon 16 Jul
7 night stay
Fri 13 Jul
Fri 20 Jul
4 night stay
Mon 16 Jul
Fri 20 Jul
7 night stay
Mon 16 Jul
Mon 23 Jul
3 night stay
Fri 20 Jul
Mon 23 Jul
7 night stay
Fri 20 Jul
Fri 27 Jul
4 night stay
Mon 23 Jul
Fri 27 Jul
7 night stay
Mon 23 Jul
Mon 30 Jul
3 night stay
Fri 27 Jul
Mon 30 Jul
7 night stay
Fri 27 Jul
Fri 03 Aug
4 night stay
Mon 30 Jul
Fri 03 Aug
7 night stay
Mon 30 Jul
Mon 06 Aug
Month
From
Until
Canvas Frills Lodge sep shower with hot tub Collection 4P
Canvas Frills Lodge sep shower with hot tub Collection 6P
3 night stay
Fri 03 Aug
Mon 06 Aug
7 night stay
Fri 03 Aug
Fri 10 Aug
4 night stay
Mon 06 Aug
Fri 10 Aug
7 night stay
Mon 06 Aug
Mon 13 Aug
3 night stay
Fri 10 Aug
Mon 13 Aug
7 night stay
Fri 10 Aug
Fri 17 Aug
4 night stay
Mon 13 Aug
Fri 17 Aug
7 night stay
Mon 13 Aug
Mon 20 Aug
3 night stay
Fri 17 Aug
Mon 20 Aug
7 night stay
Fri 17 Aug
Fri 24 Aug
4 night stay
Mon 20 Aug
Fri 24 Aug
7 night stay
Mon 20 Aug
Mon 27 Aug
3 night stay
Fri 24 Aug
Mon 27 Aug
7 night stay
Fri 24 Aug
Fri 31 Aug
4 night stay
Mon 27 Aug
Fri 31 Aug
7 night stay
Mon 27 Aug
Mon 03 Sep
3 night stay
Fri 31 Aug
Mon 03 Sep
7 night stay
Fri 31 Aug
Fri 07 Sep
Month
From
Until
Canvas Frills Lodge sep shower with hot tub Collection 4P
Canvas Frills Lodge sep shower with hot tub Collection 6P
4 night stay
Mon 03 Sep
Fri 07 Sep
7 night stay
Mon 03 Sep
Mon 10 Sep
3 night stay
Fri 07 Sep
Mon 10 Sep
7 night stay
Fri 07 Sep
Fri 14 Sep
4 night stay
Mon 10 Sep
Fri 14 Sep
7 night stay
Mon 10 Sep
Mon 17 Sep
2 night stay
Fri 14 Sep
Sun 16 Sep
3 night stay
Fri 14 Sep
Mon 17 Sep
7 night stay
Fri 14 Sep
Fri 21 Sep
4 night stay
Mon 17 Sep
Fri 21 Sep
7 night stay
Mon 17 Sep
Mon 24 Sep
2 night stay
Fri 21 Sep
Sun 23 Sep
3 night stay
Fri 21 Sep
Mon 24 Sep
7 night stay
Fri 21 Sep
Fri 28 Sep
4 night stay
Mon 24 Sep
Fri 28 Sep
7 night stay
Mon 24 Sep
Mon 01 Oct
2 night stay
Fri 28 Sep
Sun 30 Sep
3 night stay
Fri 28 Sep
Mon 01 Oct
7 night stay
Fri 28 Sep
Fri 05 Oct
Month
From
Until
Canvas Frills Lodge sep shower with hot tub Collection 4P
Canvas Frills Lodge sep shower with hot tub Collection 6P
All booked up...try the next month!

Select your date and click on the price to make a reservation. If you want to stay longer than a week, reserve many tents, or if you wish to arrive today, please contact us by phone on 01420 80804.

Please note that as this is a Collection location there won't be a guided tour (Farm Tour) or Pizza Night. There is no chicken coop for egg collecting at this location, but there is a well stocked honesty shop with delicious local produce.

Read the comments of our guests

Customer rating

Chesters Collection, Customer reviews

John & Ellie

We are John and Ellie, and our project to fully rejuvenate the house and grounds was recently documented by the Channel 4 programme Country House Rescue. We will be your hosts throughout your stay, ably assisted by our daughter Lily and son Thomas.

To plan the route Chesters Collection
Roxburghshire, Jedburgh, TD8 6UL

Chesters Collection, Customer leads

    Chesters Collection Alternatives
    • 9.5
      list-img

      Cumbria,Lake District

      4 night stay, starting at £ 219.00
      Within the Lake District National Park, you can experience true rural isolation and a little taste of heaven at Howbeck Lodge on your Cumbria glamping getaway. There's a network of walks…
      9.2
      list-img

      Lancashire,Lancaster

      2 night stay, starting at £ 239.00
      Dolphinholme Farm, situated on the edge of the Forest of Bowland, is only 20 minutes from the coast and not far from the River Wyre, making a swim or paddle a…
      9.2
      list-img

      Lancashire,Preston

      2 night stay, starting at £ 319.00
      Wyresdale park is a children's paradise. Kids are sure to love boating with you on the lake, paddling, swimming, fishing, and sharing the hot tubs, all in gorgeous country estate surroundings.…