Chesters | Family Glamping Holidays in Scotland

Chesters Collection

Roxburghshire, Jedburgh, TD8 6UL
9.4
Average customer rating

Farm information

The farm

The magical myth of a secret garden becomes a reality at Chesters, the first Feather Down in Scotland. Children will love the vast and extraordinary tree house right by the tents, as well as the mini beastie-safari, fort with slides, and climbing nets at Born in the Borders just over the river. It’s all part of Chesters. Adults will love the location of the tents, positioned as if embedded in nature. Then there are activities including den building, foraging for wood for the campfire and following streams to the river to fish. All this and more nestled in a beautiful Scottish landscape (and an enviably midge-free one at that!) From both Edinburgh and Newcastle, this glorious Grade One listed Georgian mansion and Country Estate in Scotland is just an hour and a half’s drive.

Activities on the farm

Chesters is full of delightful nooks and crannies, with the magical old walled garden an enticing centrepiece. The estate is home to cattle, roe deer, pheasants, partridges, ospreys and buzzards, and has a garden on the banks of the sparkling River Teviot with a run of salmon and brown trout to fish for, as an extra. Alternatively, order the fish served by the Gordon Ramsay-trained chef at Born in the Borders or the local Ancrum Cross Keys pub, 2 miles away. You can also cook up a delicious slow-cooked meal on the wood burning stove at your tent, with everyone pitching in for the most fulfilling result. There is a little honesty shop on site for the essentials, and local shops are to be found nearby.

On your arrival at Chesters you will be greeted at the Stables by Ellie, load up your luggage (wheelbarrows supplied) and be taken on a 7 minute walk  to your tent – along magical paths, past your honesty shop and through the walled garden with pick-your-own fruit and veg (seasonal).  Wellies come in handy, especially after rainfall!

The Channel 4 programme Country House Rescue documented John and Ellie’s efforts to rejuvenate the house and grounds. They view their ownership of Chesters as an enormous privilege, doing all they can to make sure the estate is viable and can be shared with as many people as possible. Born in the Borders has a beautifully renovated visitor centre, real ale microbrewery along with a cafe and restaurant set in one of the estate’s old farm buildings. It is devoted to local produce in all its forms – everything from cashmere to cheese and beer, and even boutique accessories. The prime attraction though is nature itself, which makes for a  wonderful glamping holiday in this absolutely stunning spot in the Scottish Borders.

Chesters Farm

3 Activities Chesters Collection

Accommodation(s)

Canvas Frills Lodge
sep shower with hot tub Collection - 4 pers.
Max. X 4 X 0
Canvas Frills Lodge
sep shower with hot tub Collection - 6 pers.
Max. X 5 X 1

Utilities

Double bed (2m x 1.80m)
Bunk bed (two times 2m x 0.90m)
Cupboard bed (2m x 1.3m) for 1 adult or 2 children
Flushing toilet
Separate warm shower
Sofa
Hot tub
Wood-fired stove
Wooden terrace, deckchairs and extended canopy
Picnic table
Cold running water in the kitchen area
Cool chest

Essentials

Wood for heating and cooking
Starter pack candles and lamp oil
Kitchen linen package

Also included

Outdoor cooker
Parking
Cleaning

Prices and availability

You can reserve many accommodations within the next step. If you wish to arrive today or make a booking for longer than a week, please contact us by phone on 01420 80804. (Online bookings can be made online until 2 PM on the day of arrival)

Select the arrival date and the length of stay and click on the price to continue to the booking process.

1
2
3

See available dates
Canvas Frills Lodge
sep shower with hot tub Collection - 4 pers.
Canvas Frills Lodge
sep shower with hot tub Collection - 6 pers.
From :Fri 22 Jun Until :Sun 24 Jun
From :Fri 22 Jun Until :Mon 25 Jun
From :Fri 22 Jun Until :Fri 29 Jun
From :Mon 25 Jun Until :Fri 29 Jun
From :Mon 25 Jun Until :Mon 02 Jul
From :Fri 29 Jun Until :Sun 01 Jul
From :Fri 29 Jun Until :Mon 02 Jul
From :Fri 29 Jun Until :Fri 06 Jul
Occupied
Occupied
From :Mon 02 Jul Until :Fri 06 Jul
Occupied
Occupied
From :Mon 02 Jul Until :Mon 09 Jul
Occupied
Occupied
From :Fri 06 Jul Until :Mon 09 Jul
Occupied
From :Fri 06 Jul Until :Fri 13 Jul
Occupied
From :Mon 09 Jul Until :Fri 13 Jul
Occupied
From :Mon 09 Jul Until :Mon 16 Jul
Occupied
From :Fri 13 Jul Until :Mon 16 Jul
Occupied
From :Fri 13 Jul Until :Fri 20 Jul
Occupied
From :Mon 16 Jul Until :Fri 20 Jul
Occupied
From :Mon 16 Jul Until :Mon 23 Jul
Occupied
From :Fri 20 Jul Until :Mon 23 Jul
Occupied
From :Fri 20 Jul Until :Fri 27 Jul
Occupied
From :Mon 23 Jul Until :Fri 27 Jul
Occupied
From :Mon 23 Jul Until :Mon 30 Jul
Occupied
Occupied
From :Fri 27 Jul Until :Mon 30 Jul
Occupied
Occupied
From :Fri 27 Jul Until :Fri 03 Aug
Occupied
Occupied
From :Mon 30 Jul Until :Fri 03 Aug
Occupied
From :Mon 30 Jul Until :Mon 06 Aug
Occupied
From :Fri 03 Aug Until :Mon 06 Aug
Occupied
From :Fri 03 Aug Until :Fri 10 Aug
Occupied
From :Mon 06 Aug Until :Fri 10 Aug
Occupied
From :Mon 06 Aug Until :Mon 13 Aug
Occupied
From :Fri 10 Aug Until :Mon 13 Aug
Occupied
From :Fri 10 Aug Until :Fri 17 Aug
Occupied
Occupied
From :Mon 13 Aug Until :Fri 17 Aug
Occupied
Occupied
From :Mon 13 Aug Until :Mon 20 Aug
Occupied
Occupied
From :Fri 17 Aug Until :Mon 20 Aug
Occupied
From :Fri 17 Aug Until :Fri 24 Aug
Occupied
From :Mon 20 Aug Until :Fri 24 Aug
Occupied
From :Mon 20 Aug Until :Mon 27 Aug
Occupied
From :Fri 24 Aug Until :Mon 27 Aug
Occupied
From :Fri 24 Aug Until :Fri 31 Aug
Occupied
From :Mon 27 Aug Until :Fri 31 Aug
Occupied
From :Mon 27 Aug Until :Mon 03 Sep
Occupied
From :Fri 31 Aug Until :Sun 02 Sep
Occupied
From :Fri 31 Aug Until :Mon 03 Sep
Occupied
From :Fri 31 Aug Until :Fri 07 Sep
Occupied
From :Mon 03 Sep Until :Fri 07 Sep
From :Mon 03 Sep Until :Mon 10 Sep
From :Fri 07 Sep Until :Mon 10 Sep
From :Fri 07 Sep Until :Fri 14 Sep
From :Mon 10 Sep Until :Fri 14 Sep
From :Mon 10 Sep Until :Mon 17 Sep
From :Fri 14 Sep Until :Sun 16 Sep
From :Fri 14 Sep Until :Mon 17 Sep
From :Fri 14 Sep Until :Fri 21 Sep
From :Mon 17 Sep Until :Fri 21 Sep
From :Mon 17 Sep Until :Mon 24 Sep
From :Fri 21 Sep Until :Sun 23 Sep
From :Fri 21 Sep Until :Mon 24 Sep
From :Fri 21 Sep Until :Fri 28 Sep
From :Mon 24 Sep Until :Fri 28 Sep
From :Mon 24 Sep Until :Mon 01 Oct
Occupied
From :Fri 28 Sep Until :Sun 30 Sep
From :Fri 28 Sep Until :Mon 01 Oct
Occupied
From :Fri 28 Sep Until :Fri 05 Oct
Occupied
Occupied

To plan the route Chesters Collection

Roxburghshire, Jedburgh, TD8 6UL

Chesters Collection, What to do in the area:

    Chesters
    John & Ellie

    We are John and Ellie, and our project to fully rejuvenate the house and grounds was recently documented by the Channel 4 programme Country House Rescue. We will be your hosts throughout your stay, ably assisted by our daughter Lily and son Thomas.

    Chesters Collection, Average customer rating

    Chesters Collection, Alternative locations