Hoeve Meskenwier

Friesland, Akkrum, 8491 MN

About Hoeve Meskenwier

Just outside the picturesque village of Akkrum, Hoeve Meskenwier is a classic Friesian “headlong hull” farm along the river Boarn. Complete with private dock and boat rental, this is the perfect glamping location for a weekend boating on Friesland, Netherlands. Hoeve Meskenwier comes from the Friesian word “Meskenwier” meaning the land that floods in winter and knoll or hill. This 200-year-old farm is situated on such a knoll on the banks of a small river called the Boarn, a tributary of the old Middelzee that used to flow into the heart of Friesland. The knoll used to house a Friesian castle, a so-called “Stinz”. Tette, the farmer here, can tell you the story of how this Stinz disappeared …

Activities on the farm:

From the farm, where some 50 calves are kept, you have a panoramic view. There is also plenty of room for the kids to roam around. The little ones can help the farmer looking after the calves or seek a fresh egg. Go ahead and fill the tub full of water to enjoy the sunset from the hot tub.

Hoeve Meskenwier is built in a typical Friesian style known here as a “head, neck and body” farm. The head was traditionally used for cheese and butter making but due to the lack of refrigeration at the time, always faced north. The neck housed the living quarters and the body would have been used for sheltering the cattle and storing the supplies.

Corn is also grown at Hoeve Meskenwier: in the summer it grows up to 2 metres high. You can walk through the cornfields at any time of the day and you might come across deer and other animals that are looking for food and shelter there. The farmland is surrounded by the Boarn river, and there is a splendid circular walk from the tent area along the river. For children there is more than enough to do on and around the farmyard; cuddling the rabbits, the goats, and the ponies. Relaxation, space, adventure, and hospitality are the keywords that will remind you of your holiday at Meskenwier.

Hoeve Meskenwier

Explore the area:

The farmland stretches to, and is surrounded by, the small river called Oede Boarn. This river is the connection waterway between the surrounding lakes and the villages on its banks such as Grou, Terhorne, Goingarijp, Joure, and Sneek. These lakes and villages offer a host of hospitable inns & pubs. There are many activities too both in the villages and on the lakes and waterways which are very typical for this part of Holland. For those wanting to explore the farm’s surroundings by bike, depending on availability it is possible to hire bicycles free of charge during your stay.

Accommodation(s)

Bedrooms

Double bed (2m x 1.60m) made upon arrival
Bunk bed (2m x 0.80m)  
optional: bunks beds can be made upon arrival as an extra
Cupboard bed (2m x 1.40m)  
optional: cupboard beds can be made upon arrival as an extra
Duvets, pillows and bed linen

Living area

Sofa and dining table
Cool box with cooling elements
Wood stove including one crate of wood per night  
For heating and cooking.
Kitchen block with kitchen utensils
Cold running water in the kitchen
Windows can be opened

Facilities

Shower by the farm  
communal and warm showers
Private ensuite shower with basin  
warm shower
Private outdoor shower  
warm shower
Private flushing toilet
Towel per person

Outdoor area

Picnic table
Roofed veranda with wooden terrace
Roofed veranda
Two deck chairs
Barbecue / outdoor cooker

Also included

Starter Package  
1 roll of toilet paper, Bin bag, Dish brush & dish liquid, Kitchen linen, Matches, Firelighters
Parking
Final cleaning
Honesty shop  
There is no honesty shop in College farm, Forest of Bowland, Hidcote Manor Farm and Wyresdale Park

6 extras to book at Hoeve Meskenwier

Prices and availability

All available accommodations have private showers.


Please note: You can reserve many accommodations within the next step.
If you wish to stay for longer or arrive on a different day – outside bank/school holidays, please contact us by phone on 01420 80804.
Online bookings can be made online until 2 PM on the day of arrival.

Select the arrival date and the length of stay and click on the price to continue to the booking process.

1
2
See available dates
4 night stay
From:Mon 19 Apr Until:Fri 23 Apr
7 night stay
From:Mon 19 Apr Until:Mon 26 Apr
2 night stay
From:Fri 23 Apr Until:Sun 25 Apr
3 night stay
From:Fri 23 Apr Until:Mon 26 Apr
4 night stay
From:Fri 23 Apr Until:Tue 27 Apr
7 night stay
From:Fri 23 Apr Until:Fri 30 Apr
4 night stay
From:Mon 26 Apr Until:Fri 30 Apr
7 night stay
From:Mon 26 Apr Until:Mon 03 May
3 night stay
From:Tue 27 Apr Until:Fri 30 Apr
3 night stay
From:Fri 30 Apr Until:Mon 03 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 30 Apr Until:Fri 07 May
4 night stay
From:Mon 03 May Until:Fri 07 May
7 night stay
From:Mon 03 May Until:Mon 10 May
2 night stay
From:Fri 07 May Until:Sun 09 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 07 May Until:Mon 10 May
5 night stay
From:Fri 07 May Until:Wed 12 May
7 night stay
From:Mon 10 May Until:Mon 17 May
4 night stay
From:Wed 12 May Until:Sun 16 May
4 night stay
From:Mon 17 May Until:Fri 21 May
4 night stay
From:Fri 21 May Until:Tue 25 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 21 May Until:Fri 28 May
3 night stay
From:Tue 25 May Until:Fri 28 May
2 night stay
From:Fri 28 May Until:Sun 30 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 28 May Until:Mon 31 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 28 May Until:Fri 04 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 31 May Until:Fri 04 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 31 May Until:Mon 07 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 04 Jun Until:Sun 06 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 04 Jun Until:Mon 07 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 04 Jun Until:Fri 11 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 07 Jun Until:Fri 11 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 07 Jun Until:Mon 14 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 11 Jun Until:Sun 13 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 11 Jun Until:Mon 14 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 11 Jun Until:Fri 18 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 14 Jun Until:Fri 18 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 14 Jun Until:Mon 21 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 18 Jun Until:Sun 20 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 18 Jun Until:Mon 21 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 18 Jun Until:Fri 25 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 21 Jun Until:Fri 25 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 21 Jun Until:Mon 28 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 25 Jun Until:Sun 27 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 25 Jun Until:Mon 28 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 25 Jun Until:Fri 02 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 28 Jun Until:Fri 02 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 28 Jun Until:Mon 05 Jul
2 night stay
From:Fri 02 Jul Until:Sun 04 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 02 Jul Until:Mon 05 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 02 Jul Until:Fri 09 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 05 Jul Until:Fri 09 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 05 Jul Until:Mon 12 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 09 Jul Until:Mon 12 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 09 Jul Until:Fri 16 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 12 Jul Until:Fri 16 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 12 Jul Until:Mon 19 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 16 Jul Until:Mon 19 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 16 Jul Until:Fri 23 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 19 Jul Until:Fri 23 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 19 Jul Until:Mon 26 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 23 Jul Until:Mon 26 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 23 Jul Until:Fri 30 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 26 Jul Until:Fri 30 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 26 Jul Until:Mon 02 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 30 Jul Until:Mon 02 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 30 Jul Until:Fri 06 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 02 Aug Until:Fri 06 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 02 Aug Until:Mon 09 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 06 Aug Until:Mon 09 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 06 Aug Until:Fri 13 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 09 Aug Until:Fri 13 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 09 Aug Until:Mon 16 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 13 Aug Until:Mon 16 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 13 Aug Until:Fri 20 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 16 Aug Until:Fri 20 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 16 Aug Until:Mon 23 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 20 Aug Until:Mon 23 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 20 Aug Until:Fri 27 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 23 Aug Until:Fri 27 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 23 Aug Until:Mon 30 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 27 Aug Until:Mon 30 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 27 Aug Until:Fri 03 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 30 Aug Until:Fri 03 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 03 Sep Until:Mon 06 Sep

To plan the route Hoeve Meskenwier

Hoeve Meskenwier, What to do in the area:

Your host(s)

Meskenwier famille
Tette & Jantsje

Just outside the village Akkrum is our farm along the River Boarn. Complete with its own harbour basin, and boat rentals around the corner, this is the perfect place for wonderful trips.

We hope you will enjoy the environment and our farm and hope to see you soon!

Hoeve Meskenwier, Average customer rating

Hoeve Meskenwier, Alternative locations

Newsletter