Forest of Bowland

Lancashire, Lancaster, LA2 9DJ

About Forest of Bowland

Forest of Bowland is situated on the edge of the Forest of Bowland. As well as 20 minutes from the coast and not far from the River Wyre, making a swim or paddle a very inviting prospect.

The Gorst family have farmed here for over 70 years. A former goat farm but now a farm that offers free ranging eggs and serves well known supermarkets nationally. For biosecurity the chickens cannot be visited. There are cattle and sheep as well as Belted Galloway cow or “Orea cow”, which will be calving around August. There’s also 4 Labradors called Raven, Musto, Millie and Proc, Meg the Jack Russell and Harriet the cat. It’s very easy to fall in love with the place, so it’s hardly surprising that the Rough Guide to Camping in Britain quoted from the guest book: “This is the greatest holiday ever and I want to work here when I’m older’’.

Activities at the location:

This farm is a fantastic natural playground for young and old alike. Their indoor play area will put your local park to shame, with a huge trampoline, swing, sandpit, and giant slide. The outdoor play area and 1 zip wire are also always a hit with children! The more adventurous can explore the farm’s deciduous woodland, which provides ample opportunities for den-building. Bring your own wetsuit and/or your own dingus to have a splashing time on the river! Another water-fun activity would be the small sandy beach where you can dip in during the sunny days!

Explore the area:

Right by the farm is the Forest of Bowland, a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty which features a dramatic landscape of gritstone fells, deep valleys and peat moor and plays host to a rich variety of upland bird-life.

 

While staying at Forest of Bowland, it’s easy to take a trip to the Lake District, the Yorkshire Dales, the Forest of Bowland and the funfairs of Blackpool. The historical city of Lancaster is also nearby, as is Morecambe with its promenades and fabulous views across the bay. Make sure to plan a visit to the local pubs and enjoy yourself an excellent meal.

7 Activities Forest of Bowland

Accommodation(s)

Bedrooms

Double bed (2m x 1.60m) made upon arrival
Bunk bed (2m x 0.80m)  
optional: bunks beds can be made upon arrival as an extra
Cupboard bed (2m x 1.40m)  
optional: cupboard beds can be made upon arrival as an extra
Duvets, pillows and bed linen

Living area

Sofa and dining table
Cool box with cooling elements
Wood stove including one crate of wood per night  
For heating and cooking.
Kitchen block with kitchen utensils
Cold running water in the kitchen
Windows can be opened

Facilities

Shower by the farm  
communal showers
Private ensuite shower with basin
Private outdoor shower
Private flushing toilet
Towel per person

Outdoor area

Picnic table
Roofed veranda with wooden terrace
Roofed veranda
Two deck chairs
Barbecue / outdoor cooker

Also included

Starter Package  
1 roll TP, bin bag, dish brush & soap, kitchen linen, matches, 3 fire starter sticks, candles, oil lamp, lamp oil, tea lights
Parking
Final cleaning
Honesty shop

Prices and availability

Please note: You can reserve many accommodations within the next step.
If you wish to arrive on a different day or to stay for longer than 7 days, please contact us by phone on 01420 80804.
Online bookings can be made online until 2 PM on the day of arrival.

Select the arrival date and the length of stay and click on the price to continue to the booking process.

1
2
See available dates
4 night stay
From:Fri 02 Apr Until:Tue 06 Apr
7 night stay
From:Fri 02 Apr Until:Fri 09 Apr
3 night stay
From:Tue 06 Apr Until:Fri 09 Apr
3 night stay
From:Fri 09 Apr Until:Mon 12 Apr
7 night stay
From:Fri 09 Apr Until:Fri 16 Apr
4 night stay
From:Mon 12 Apr Until:Fri 16 Apr
7 night stay
From:Mon 12 Apr Until:Mon 19 Apr
2 night stay
From:Fri 16 Apr Until:Sun 18 Apr
3 night stay
From:Fri 16 Apr Until:Mon 19 Apr
7 night stay
From:Fri 16 Apr Until:Fri 23 Apr
4 night stay
From:Mon 19 Apr Until:Fri 23 Apr
7 night stay
From:Mon 19 Apr Until:Mon 26 Apr
2 night stay
From:Fri 23 Apr Until:Sun 25 Apr
3 night stay
From:Fri 23 Apr Until:Mon 26 Apr
7 night stay
From:Fri 23 Apr Until:Fri 30 Apr
4 night stay
From:Mon 26 Apr Until:Fri 30 Apr
4 night stay
From:Fri 30 Apr Until:Tue 04 May
3 night stay
From:Tue 04 May Until:Fri 07 May
2 night stay
From:Fri 07 May Until:Sun 09 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 07 May Until:Mon 10 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 07 May Until:Fri 14 May
4 night stay
From:Mon 10 May Until:Fri 14 May
7 night stay
From:Mon 10 May Until:Mon 17 May
2 night stay
From:Fri 14 May Until:Sun 16 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 14 May Until:Mon 17 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 14 May Until:Fri 21 May
4 night stay
From:Mon 17 May Until:Fri 21 May
7 night stay
From:Mon 17 May Until:Mon 24 May
2 night stay
From:Fri 21 May Until:Sun 23 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 21 May Until:Mon 24 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 21 May Until:Fri 28 May
4 night stay
From:Mon 24 May Until:Fri 28 May
7 night stay
From:Mon 24 May Until:Mon 31 May
3 night stay
From:Fri 28 May Until:Mon 31 May
7 night stay
From:Fri 28 May Until:Fri 04 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 31 May Until:Fri 04 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 31 May Until:Mon 07 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 04 Jun Until:Mon 07 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 04 Jun Until:Fri 11 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 07 Jun Until:Fri 11 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 07 Jun Until:Mon 14 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 11 Jun Until:Sun 13 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 11 Jun Until:Mon 14 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 11 Jun Until:Fri 18 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 14 Jun Until:Fri 18 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 14 Jun Until:Mon 21 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 18 Jun Until:Sun 20 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 18 Jun Until:Mon 21 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 18 Jun Until:Fri 25 Jun
4 night stay
From:Mon 21 Jun Until:Fri 25 Jun
7 night stay
From:Mon 21 Jun Until:Mon 28 Jun
2 night stay
From:Fri 25 Jun Until:Sun 27 Jun
3 night stay
From:Fri 25 Jun Until:Mon 28 Jun
7 night stay
From:Fri 25 Jun Until:Fri 02 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 28 Jun Until:Fri 02 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 28 Jun Until:Mon 05 Jul
2 night stay
From:Fri 02 Jul Until:Sun 04 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 02 Jul Until:Mon 05 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 02 Jul Until:Fri 09 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 05 Jul Until:Fri 09 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 05 Jul Until:Mon 12 Jul
2 night stay
From:Fri 09 Jul Until:Sun 11 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 09 Jul Until:Mon 12 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 09 Jul Until:Fri 16 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 12 Jul Until:Fri 16 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 12 Jul Until:Mon 19 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 16 Jul Until:Mon 19 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 16 Jul Until:Fri 23 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 19 Jul Until:Fri 23 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 19 Jul Until:Mon 26 Jul
3 night stay
From:Fri 23 Jul Until:Mon 26 Jul
7 night stay
From:Fri 23 Jul Until:Fri 30 Jul
4 night stay
From:Mon 26 Jul Until:Fri 30 Jul
7 night stay
From:Mon 26 Jul Until:Mon 02 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 30 Jul Until:Mon 02 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 30 Jul Until:Fri 06 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 02 Aug Until:Fri 06 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 02 Aug Until:Mon 09 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 06 Aug Until:Mon 09 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 06 Aug Until:Fri 13 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 09 Aug Until:Fri 13 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 09 Aug Until:Mon 16 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 13 Aug Until:Mon 16 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 13 Aug Until:Fri 20 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 16 Aug Until:Fri 20 Aug
7 night stay
From:Mon 16 Aug Until:Mon 23 Aug
3 night stay
From:Fri 20 Aug Until:Mon 23 Aug
7 night stay
From:Fri 20 Aug Until:Fri 27 Aug
4 night stay
From:Mon 23 Aug Until:Fri 27 Aug
4 night stay
From:Fri 27 Aug Until:Tue 31 Aug
3 night stay
From:Tue 31 Aug Until:Fri 03 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 03 Sep Until:Sun 05 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 03 Sep Until:Mon 06 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 03 Sep Until:Fri 10 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 06 Sep Until:Fri 10 Sep
7 night stay
From:Mon 06 Sep Until:Mon 13 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 10 Sep Until:Sun 12 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 10 Sep Until:Mon 13 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 10 Sep Until:Fri 17 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 13 Sep Until:Fri 17 Sep
7 night stay
From:Mon 13 Sep Until:Mon 20 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 17 Sep Until:Sun 19 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 17 Sep Until:Mon 20 Sep
7 night stay
From:Fri 17 Sep Until:Fri 24 Sep
4 night stay
From:Mon 20 Sep Until:Fri 24 Sep
7 night stay
From:Mon 20 Sep Until:Mon 27 Sep
2 night stay
From:Fri 24 Sep Until:Sun 26 Sep
3 night stay
From:Fri 24 Sep Until:Mon 27 Sep

To plan the route Forest of Bowland

Lancashire, Lancaster, LA2 9DJ

Forest of Bowland, What to do in the area:

Your host(s)

Gorst family

We are the Gorst family and we've farmed here for over 70 years. Father and son, John and Mark, farm in partnership with Barbara and you'll receive a warm welcome from us all on arrival at Forest of Bowland.

Forest of Bowland, Average customer rating

Forest of Bowland, Alternative locations

Newsletter